Mass Cultural Council logo
2019 Commonwealth Awards Finalists
Home / Culture Now / Commonwealth Awards

Commonwealth Awards

Presented every two years, the Commonwealth Awards shine a spotlight on the extraordinary contributions the arts, humanities, and sciences make to education, economic growth and vitality, and quality of life in communities across Massachusetts. The Commonwealth Awards ceremony also presents an opportunity for the Massachusetts nonprofit cultural sector to gather, assert its value, and make the case for public investment in its work.

Past winners include leading artists, writers, and scholars such as Olympia Dukakis and David McCullough; world-renowned institutions like Jacob’s Pillow Dance Festival and the Peabody Essex Museum; and social innovators like the Cambridge Science Festival and the Barr Foundation.

Due to the pandemic Mass Cultural Council paused the Commonwealth Awards in 2021. We look forward to bringing this celebration back in 2024, stay tuned for more information.

2019 Award Recipients and Finalists

2017 Award Recipients

2015 Award Recipients

Back to Top